Living Review Reviewed build: Restore Hybrid, Medium feel, 11.5 in

Purple Hybrid Mattress ReviewThe name is retired. Here is the bed that sells in its place.

Search for this Purple Hybrid mattress review and you are looking for a product the company no longer lists. Its website sells three coil-based Restore models and a taller Rejuvenate line, and says nothing about which one took over from the old Hybrid. An independent teardown points to the 11.5-inch Restore Hybrid, so that is the bed reviewed here — along with a problem every other write-up skips: the only lab measurements published for it describe a Firm option that is no longer made.

Updated · By SleepUnpacked Research Team

Quick Verdict

Is the Purple Hybrid still sold, and is its replacement worth buying?

No product called the Purple Hybrid is on sale. The closest current build is the Restore Hybrid: 2 in of GelFlex Grid over a 1-inch foam layer and 8 in of pocketed coils, 11.5 in tall, one medium feel, $2,699 for a queen with no promotion showing on 25 September 2026. It makes most sense for back and combination sleepers roughly 130–230 lb who already know they like the Grid and want bounce and quick response. The catch is evidence: both published lab tests ran on the withdrawn Firm option, so firmness, pressure relief, motion isolation, and noise for the bed you would actually receive are unmeasured. Light side sleepers and anyone who wakes to a partner’s movement should look at the thicker-Grid RestorePlus, which has a current-version test, before committing.

Decision and purchase facts

Restore Hybrid at a glance

Exact model
Purple Restore® Hybrid — Medium feel, 11.5 in

This is what a "Purple Hybrid" search lands on today. purple.com lists no product by that name; its hybrids are the Restore, RestorePlus, and RestorePremier Hybrid plus the taller Rejuvenate line. Purple does not publish a statement that the Restore replaced the retired Purple Hybrid — that link comes from NapLab’s teardown, which found the same 2-inch Grid over foam and coils. Not the 13-inch RestorePlus or RestorePremier, not the Mattress Firm-only Restore Cool Touch, and not the Soft or Firm Restore options sold at launch.

Purple hybrid range · checked
Type
GelFlex Grid over pocketed coils (hybrid)

Purple lists, top to bottom: a SoftFlex cover with an antimicrobial finish, 2 in of GelFlex Grid ringed by edge-support foam, a comfort-foam layer, and an 8-inch Responsive Coil System. Purple does not publish the comfort-foam thickness or any foam density; NapLab measured a 1-inch polyfoam layer on its unit.

Purple official · checked
Firmness
Medium feel (manufacturer) — not independently measured on this build

The listing offers one feel, described as medium. When the Restore launched in May 2023 it came in Soft and Firm; NapLab and Sleep Foundation both tested the Firm option, which has since been withdrawn. No lab score for the current feel was found, so none is shown.

Purple official · checked
Height
11.5 inches (queen: 80 × 60 × 11.5 in)

Purple publishes 11.5 inches for every size. NapLab recorded 11 inches on its Firm-option unit; Sleep Foundation listed 11.5.

Purple official · checked
Price
Check current price — $2,699 queen, no promotion shown

Recorded on the checked date with no strike-through or sale figure displayed. Other sizes: Twin XL $2,299, Full $2,499, King and Cal King $3,399, Split King $4,598. Independent reviews quoting about $2,295 for a queen describe an earlier price point.

Purple official · checked
Trial
100-night trial, 21-night minimum

The trial starts on delivery. Purple asks buyers to sleep on the mattress for at least 21 nights before starting a return or exchange. Retailer purchases, including the Mattress Firm Cool Touch variant, follow the retailer’s own terms.

Purple official · checked
Delivery
Free shipping, listed as shipping in 1–2 days

Ships rolled with carry handles. Complimentary in-home setup is offered only when the mattress is paired with a Premium Plus Smart Base, per the listing.

Purple official · checked
Returns
Refund less discounts and transportation charges, within 100 days

Purple collects the mattress and refunds the product price minus any discount, accrued interest, and transportation charges, capped at its standard freight rate. The mattress must be clean with the law tag attached, and photos are required. Purple’s returns page does not state a dollar figure; NapLab reports a $250 charge for the Restore collection, obtained from customer service.

Purple returns page · checked
Warranty
10-year limited, 1.0-inch indentation threshold

Runs from the original purchase date, repair or replace at Purple’s option. A qualifying body impression must exceed 1.00 inch after full recovery. Slats must be no more than 3.5 in apart, box springs are not a supported foundation, and after 100 days the purchaser pays transportation on a warranty repair or replacement.

Purple warranty page · checked

Best for

  • • Shoppers who owned or liked the retired Purple Hybrid and want the same Grid-over-coils recipe from the current lineup rather than the thicker, pricier Plus or Premier tiers.
  • • Back and combination sleepers roughly 130–230 lb who want quick response and bounce: the Grid rebounds instantly and the coil core adds lift that the all-foam Purple Mattress does not have.
  • • Couples who prioritise sitting and lying near the edge over total motion damping — the Grid is ringed by a foam perimeter over a full coil unit.
  • • Buyers who value a written 1.0-inch indentation threshold, which is stricter in the owner’s favour than the 1.5-inch standard many brands use.

Avoid or test carefully if

  • • You want independent measurements of the exact bed you are buying. None exist yet for the current medium feel; the RestorePlus has a 2026 instrumented test of its current build.
  • • A partner’s movement wakes you. The withdrawn Firm option logged 13.90 m/s² of motion transfer in NapLab’s test, the most of any Purple it had tested, and nothing has replaced that result.
  • • You are a side sleeper under about 130 lb looking for deep cushioning — roughly 3 in of comfort material is thin, and Purple sells a 3-inch Grid on the RestorePlus for exactly this case.
  • • You plan to keep an old box spring or a slatted base with gaps wider than 3.5 in; both fall outside the written warranty conditions.

Best-for and avoid-if guidance is Sleep Unpacked editorial analysis. Purchase terms can change; use the linked official source before ordering.

Name lookup

Where each retired name points today — and who says so

The 2023 launch release introduced the Restore family in Soft and Firm versions without mentioning the earlier coil beds, and the current range page lists no predecessor for any model. Adding to the confusion, the listing’s own cooling footnote cites a study “conducted on Purple Hybrid mattresses, 2023” — using the old name as a generic description of the current range. The right-hand column below is therefore the important one: only one of these links comes from the manufacturer.

Retired Purple mattress names, the current model each most resembles, and the source of that link
Name you searchedClosest model on saleWho links them
Purple HybridRestore® Hybrid — 2 in Grid, 8 in coils, 11.5 inNapLab’s teardown compares the two directly and calls the Restore its successor. The brand does not state this.
Purple Hybrid Premier 3RestorePlus® Hybrid — 3 in Grid, zoned coils, 13 inNapLab’s RestorePlus review names the Premier 3 as its predecessor. No manufacturer statement.
Purple Hybrid Premier 4No current model with a single 4-inch GridThe RejuvenatePremier stacks two 2-inch Grid layers; that is a different design, not a documented replacement.
Purple NewDayPurpleFlex® MattressThe one rename the brand publishes itself: its returns page reads “PurpleFlex® Mattress (Previously known as NewDay™)”.

Treat the first three rows as a construction match, not a promise of the same feel. If you are replacing an old Hybrid and want to know whether the new one will feel identical, the honest answer is that no one has published a comparison of the two in their current states.

Old versus new

What changed between the retired Hybrid and the Restore

This comparison comes from NapLab’s teardown of both beds; the manufacturer has published no equivalent. The Grid and the foam above the coils are the same thickness. The springs grew by half an inch and the foam slab beneath them was removed, which keeps the height similar while shifting a little more of the support job onto the coils.

Layer thicknesses of the retired Purple Hybrid and the current Restore Hybrid from an independent teardown
LayerRetired Hybrid (in)Restore (in)What it means
GelFlex Grid2.02.0Unchanged thickness — the defining component carried over.
Polyfoam transition1.01.0Same thickness; NapLab judged the older foam to be of better quality.
Pocketed coils7.58.0Half an inch taller in the current build.
Support foam under coils1.0NoneThe base foam layer was dropped.

The tester’s one qualitative verdict on the change is unflattering: the foams in the older model “appeared to be of better quality.” No density figures exist for either, so we record that as an opinion from a teardown rather than a measured difference.

Comparable performance matrix

What the evidence says—and does not say

Each result is labeled by evidence type. A measurement is not converted into a 10-point rating, and an untested metric stays unscored.

Firmness

Source-reported fact

Medium feel (manufacturer label)

Purple’s label, not a measurement. The only published lab scores are for the withdrawn Firm option, which both labs placed around 7 of 10; the current feel should sit below that, by an amount nobody has measured.

Purple official

Pressure relief

Not measured

Not measured on the current Medium build

Pressure relief depends on the feel option, so the Firm-option results are not carried over. Construction points to a limit either way: about 3 in of comfort material in total, well under the 4-plus inches common in this price band.

Cooling

Qualitative assessment

Open Grid over coils — no current-build temperature test

Sleep Unpacked assessment from construction. The Grid is mostly air by volume and the coil core ventilates from below, the same arrangement both labs rated highly on the Firm option. We expect the medium feel to behave similarly, but no current-version number is published.

Motion isolation

Not measured

Not measured on the current Medium build

The metric most likely to differ between feel options, and the one where the historical data disagree: NapLab recorded high transfer on the Firm unit, while Sleep Foundation rated it moderately. Treat it as the main open question.

Response / bounce

Qualitative assessment

Fast, springy (construction-based)

Sleep Unpacked assessment. A polymer Grid has no slow-recovery foam to wait for, and pocketed coils add lift; NapLab logged its fastest-ever recovery on the Firm option. Expect easy repositioning and noticeable bounce.

Edge support

Source-reported fact

Foam perimeter around the Grid over a full coil unit

Purple lists an edge-support foam; it does not list reinforced perimeter coils on this tier, which NapLab found on the RestorePlus and RestorePremier. A seated result for the medium feel is not published.

Purple official

Noise

Not measured

Not measured on the current Medium build

No noise figure exists for this build. Wrapped coils under a foam-bounded Grid are usually quiet when new; coil noise, if it develops, tends to appear with age.

Position × body weight

Who should—and should not—choose it

These calls rest on the published construction and the manufacturer's medium-feel label, because no position-by-weight test of the current feel exists. Confidence is lower than on a review with version-matched measurements; the Firm-option fit scores are not reused.

Side

Under 130 lb
Use caution

A light body may not load the 2-inch Grid enough to buckle it fully at the shoulder, and there is little comfort foam beneath it; the 3-inch Grid on the RestorePlus is the in-brand fix.

130–230 lb
Possible fit

Enough weight to fold the Grid under shoulder and hip. Whether the medium feel is plush enough for a strict side sleeper is exactly what no one has measured.

Over 230 lb
Possible fit

The Grid keeps buckling under heavier load where thin foam would bottom out, but the shallow comfort stack means the coils do more of the work.

Back

Under 130 lb
Possible fit

The Grid stays upright under the lower back at low load, which suits back sleeping, though light sleepers get little contouring.

130–230 lb
Recommended

The target case for a medium Grid-over-coils bed: columns yield at the hips while the coil core keeps the lumbar region from dropping.

Over 230 lb
Possible fit

An 8-inch coil unit carries higher load better than the all-foam Purple Mattress, but with no zoning or reinforced coils listed, hip sink grows with weight.

Stomach

Under 130 lb
Possible fit

A light sleeper stays fairly level on a medium surface with a thin comfort layer.

130–230 lb
Possible fit

Purple markets the bed to stomach sleepers, and the shallow comfort stack helps, but the medium feel is softer than the Firm option that tested best for this position.

Over 230 lb
Use caution

The midsection carries the most load and the Grid buckles hardest where pressure concentrates; the Firm option that suited this group is no longer sold.

Combination

Under 130 lb
Possible fit

Easy to move on, though a light body gets the least from the Grid in the side position.

130–230 lb
Recommended

Instant Grid recovery plus coil lift makes position changes effortless, and back and side both suit this band.

Over 230 lb
Possible fit

Still easy to reposition, but stomach sleeping weakens at this weight, which narrows the useful range of positions.

Fit calls are qualitative editorial interpretations of the manufacturer's construction claims. They are comfort and alignment judgements, not clinical recommendations.

Historical lab results

What two labs measured — on the Firm option that is no longer made

Version boundary

NapLab states plainly that it tested the Firm version and that this firmness was later discontinued; Sleep Foundation lists its tested firmness as Firm (7). The mattress sold today has the same published layer sequence but a single medium feel. Firmness drives sinkage, pressure relief, and motion behaviour, so none of these figures appear in the performance matrix above. They are shown so you can see what the construction did in one configuration — not what the current bed will do.

Independent results for the discontinued Firm option of the Restore Hybrid from NapLab and Sleep Foundation
MetricNapLab (Firm option)Sleep Foundation (Firm option)
FirmnessAbout 7/10 (Firm option)7/10 (Firm option)
Pressure relief1.90 in sinkage; 8.0 score7/10
Cooling89.4 °F peak surface temperature9/10
Motion13.90 m/s², most of any Purple it tested7/10
Response / bounce0.2 s / 0.3 s recovery; 14.42 in bounce6.5/10 ease of movement
Edge support4.00 in seated compression7.5/10
Off-gassing14 days, strong at unboxingNot scored here

Two patterns are worth carrying forward as hypotheses. Cooling was strong in both labs, and it depends mostly on the open Grid and the coil core rather than on firmness, so it is the result most likely to survive the change of feel. Motion is where the labs disagree: NapLab recorded the most transfer of any model in the range, while Sleep Foundation rated it 7 of 10. A softer surface usually damps more movement, but that is a direction, not a number, and it is the first thing a current-version test should settle.

Current construction

A thin comfort stack doing a lot of work

The listing describes five components: a SoftFlex cover with an antimicrobial finish, 2 in of GelFlex Grid, an edge-support foam around it, a comfort foam, and an 8-inch Responsive Coil System. The Grid is a lattice of more than 1,400 hyper-elastic polymer columns that fold under concentrated weight at the shoulder and hip and stay upright under the broader, lighter areas of the back. Below it, the teardown found a single inch of polyfoam — about 3 in of comfort material in all, where many hybrids at this price carry 4 in or more. That shallow stack is why the bed bounces and recovers so fast, and also why a light side sleeper may find it firmer than the medium label suggests.

Edge and foundation details

The perimeter here is foam, not springs: NapLab measured a 3-inch-tall, 4-inch-wide foam border around the Grid and noted that the RestorePlus and RestorePremier add reinforced edge coils this tier lacks. The foundation rules are strict. The warranty requires slats no more than 3.5 in apart, and the listing says the mattress should not go on a box spring. Budget for a solid platform if your current frame does not meet that.

Useful comparisons

Which decision each alternative changes

Restore Hybrid vs the all-foam original

Same 2-inch Grid, different foundation underneath. The original sits on 7.5 in of polyfoam and stands 9.25 in tall; this one sits on coils and stands 11.5 in. Choose the coils for bounce, height, and airflow from below. Choose the foam model if you sleep on your side, want the lower price, and do not need spring. Our Purple Original review has its own measured results.

Restore Hybrid vs RestorePlus

$900 more at the checked list prices buys a 3-inch Grid, a thicker comfort foam, zoned coils, reinforced edge coils, and a 13-inch profile. It also buys evidence: RTINGS published an instrumented test of the RestorePlus in its current single feel in January 2026. Side sleepers and anyone who wants measured numbers before spending this much should start there.

Restore Hybrid vs a conventional hybrid

NapLab’s own suggestion for motion-sensitive couples was a memory-foam hybrid such as the Helix Midnight Luxe, which trades bounce for damping and has a current-version measurement. The decision is about feel: the Grid gives instant response and a floating surface; memory foam gives slower, quieter contouring. If you have never slept on the Grid, try one in a store before paying a Grid premium.

Trial, returns, and warranty mechanics

What 100 nights and ten years actually cover

The trial opens on delivery and asks for 21 nights before any return or exchange, which leaves a 79-night decision window. A return is collected rather than repackaged, but it is not free: the refund is reduced by any discount, accrued interest, and transportation charges. The returns page gives no amount; NapLab reports $250 for the Restore collection after asking customer service. On a $2,699 queen that is a real cost of changing your mind, so decide early if the Grid feel is not working.

The written warranty runs ten years from purchase with repair or replacement at the manufacturer’s option. Its defect threshold is a visible impression deeper than 1.00 inch after the mattress has recovered, which is stricter in the owner’s favour than the 1.5 inches several competitors use. The conditions to watch are the foundation (slats no more than 3.5 in apart, no box spring) and shipping: after the first 100 days, the owner pays transportation on a warranty repair or replacement.

Living Review durability forecast — modeled, not observed

What should age first, and how confident we are

Assumptions: two adults totalling under about 400 lb, nightly use, a solid platform or slats no more than 3.5 in apart, rotation every six months, and no liquid damage. Inputs are the published layer list and NapLab’s teardown thicknesses. No foam density, coil gauge, or Grid material specification is published, so this is a qualitative scenario, not a service-life figure, a failure probability, or a rating.

Modeled first change

The 1-inch polyfoam under the Grid and the foam edge border. Thin, unspecified polyfoam carries concentrated load directly below the hip and softens before the polymer above it or the coils below. The expected early sign is a slightly deeper hip channel and a softer seated edge rather than a visible dip.

Modeled countermeasures

The Grid itself is a resilient elastomer rather than a foam, so it is not expected to take a permanent set the way low-density comfort foam does. An 8-inch pocketed coil unit spreads load across the whole surface. The 1.00-inch warranty threshold means a defect is recognised earlier than under a 1.5-inch rule.

Uncertainty and update rule

Confidence is low to moderate. Missing inputs — foam density, coil gauge, and any long-term test — could move the outlook either way, and the teardown’s remark about lower foam quality points downward. We will revise this section when a current-version lab test is published, if the layer list changes, or if consistent owner reports describe the change above at a specific age.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Purple still sell the Purple Hybrid mattress?

No. On 25 September 2026 purple.com listed no product by that name. Its coil-based beds are the Restore, RestorePlus, and RestorePremier Hybrid, plus the taller Rejuvenate range. The brand launched the Restore models in May 2023 and has not published a statement saying which one replaced the older Hybrid.

What replaced the Purple Hybrid?

The closest current build is the Restore Hybrid: 2 in of GelFlex Grid, a thin foam transition, and 8 in of pocketed coils at 11.5 in tall. NapLab’s teardown found the same Grid thickness and foam layer in both, with half an inch more coil and no base foam in the newer one, and describes the Restore as the successor. That is an independent reading of the construction, not a manufacturer crosswalk.

How firm is the Purple Restore Hybrid?

Purple calls it a medium feel, and it is the only feel on the listing. No independent firmness score exists for that version. The Restore launched in Soft and Firm options, and the two published lab tests both used the Firm option at about 7 of 10, which has since been withdrawn, so those scores do not describe what ships today.

Is the Purple Restore Hybrid worth $2,699?

Only if you specifically want the Grid over coils and sleep on your back or change positions often. At the checked price, with no promotion showing, it cost more than NapLab’s recorded $2,295 and there is no current-version test to lean on. Shoppers who need measured evidence should look at the RestorePlus, which has a 2026 instrumented test of its current build, or at a conventional hybrid.

How much does it cost to return a Purple Restore Hybrid?

The returns page says the refund is the product price minus any discount, accrued interest, and transportation charges, capped at the standard freight rate, but it does not print a figure. NapLab reports a $250 charge for the Restore collection, obtained from customer service. The return window is 100 days from delivery with a 21-night minimum.

What is the difference between the Purple Hybrid and the original Purple Mattress?

The original Purple Mattress is 9.25 in of Grid over polyfoam with no springs. The Restore Hybrid puts the same 2-inch Grid over 8 in of pocketed coils, which adds height, bounce, and airflow from below, at a noticeably higher queen price. Our Purple Original review covers the all-foam model separately.

Sources and Review Notes

  • purple.com — Restore® Hybrid Mattress listing — Exact model, 11.5-inch height for all sizes, medium feel, layer list, per-size prices, shipping, trial, 21-night minimum, and the note that the Mattress Firm Cool Touch version shares its construction. Checked 2026-09-25 with no promotion showing.
  • purple.com — hybrid mattress range — Current hybrid lineup and heights. Contains no product named Purple Hybrid and no statement about which model replaced it.
  • purple.com — Returns + exchanges — 100-day return window, 21-day minimum, and refund deductions for discounts, interest, and transportation charges. Also the source of the published NewDay → PurpleFlex rename.
  • purple.com — Mattresses Limited Warranty — 10-year term from purchase, 1.00-inch indentation threshold, 3.5-inch slat limit, and purchaser-paid transportation after 100 days.
  • PR Newswire — Premium and Luxe Collections launch (15 May 2023) — Launch of the Restore, RestorePlus, and RestorePremier with Soft and Firm options for each. Makes no statement about discontinuing or replacing the earlier Hybrid models.
  • NapLab — Purple Restore review (updated 18 May 2026) — Historical context only. Tested the Firm option and says so. Source of the 1.90 in sinkage, 89.4 °F, 13.90 m/s², 0.2/0.3 s, 14.42 in bounce, 4.00 in edge, and 14-day off-gassing figures; the teardown layer comparison with the retired Hybrid; and the $250 Restore-collection return charge. Not used as current-version evidence.
  • Sleep Foundation — Purple Restore review (updated 14 October 2025) — Historical context only. Firmness tested: Firm (7). Its test-lab ratings and position-by-weight scores describe that withdrawn option and are not attached to the current Medium feel.
  • RTINGS — Purple RestorePlus Hybrid review (published 12 January 2026) — Cited only in the comparison section: an instrumented test of the RestorePlus in its current single feel. It is a different model and none of its results are applied here.
  • SleepUnpacked methodology — Sleep Unpacked did not measure this mattress. Current-version rows are manufacturer facts, qualitative assessments from published construction, or marked not measured. Fit calls and the durability outlook are editorial analysis; the outlook is modeled, not observed. The brand’s pain-reduction claims are its own and are not repeated as findings.

Compare this mattress

Intro:For first-pass context, review Purple Original living review.

Methods:For methods and material assumptions, review Purple Restore Hybrid specs, sizes & pricing.

Methods:For methods and material assumptions, review best cooling mattress picks.

Risk:For risk thresholds and failure conditions, review Casper vs Purple grid-vs-foam verdict.

Conclusion:For conclusion-level comparison, review Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review.

Conclusion:For conclusion-level comparison, review WinkBed Original living review.

Next Step:For your next decision step, review do you need a box spring for a hybrid.