Buying Guide · Updated 2026-10-26
When and Where to Buy a Mattress
Sale dates, our dated price checks, and how the store you pick changes your trial
The short answer
- When: Black Friday to Cyber Monday is the biggest sale event, and the holiday weekends from Presidents Day to Labor Day come next. But 21 of the 28 mattresses we price-check go on sale so often that the sale price is the real price. Don't sleep on a failing bed to wait.
- Where: buy direct from the brand for the longest trial. 15 of the 29 mattresses we reviewed get a 365-night trial that way. Store and marketplace terms can be shorter.
- Watch out: a crossed-out "regular" price is not proof of a deal. Compare today's price, not the discount.
When to Buy: The Mattress Sale Calendar
Mattress sales follow the holiday calendar. These are the recurring events the Sleep Foundation tracks. Most start several days before the holiday itself.
- New YearJanuary 1Brands clear beds they plan to replace with new models.
- Presidents DayThird Monday in FebruaryThe first major mattress sale weekend of the year.
- Memorial DayLast Monday in MayDeals often start about a week before the long weekend. New spring models are arriving.
- Independence DayJuly 4Some deals start in mid-June and run into July.
- Labor DayFirst Monday in SeptemberSales usually start the week before the holiday.
- Veterans DayNovember 11Look for cuts on older models.
- Black Friday and Cyber MondayLate NovemberThe biggest sale event of the year. Online brands push hardest on Cyber Monday.
Typical holiday cuts: $100 to $200 off at some brands, and up to about 30% at others, per the Sleep Foundation. Brands also cut prices on models they plan to retire, so a new model launch is a good time to buy the old one.
Do You Need to Wait for a Sale?
Usually not. We record a dated queen price in every review. For 21 of 28 mattresses, our notes say the brand discounts often or all the time, or prices against a "Total Value" figure. For those beds, the "sale" price is the real everyday price. None of our checks, made between August 25, 2026 and October 25, 2026, fell within a week of a major sale event.
Prices also move between sales. Between our August and October 2026 checks, 10 queen prices changed: 7 went up, 2 went down and 1 held flat.
| Mattress | Latest queen | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| Beautyrest Black Series One Extra Firm | $2,199 (up) | A large increase from the $1,349 queen recorded in August 2026; Twin XL started at $1,749 on the checked date. |
| Big Fig Classic Mattress | $2,049 (up) | Up from $1,999 at the August 2026 check. |
| Casper Cooling Select Hybrid | $750 (down) | The list price fell from $799.99 to $749.99 between the August and October 2026 checks, and a $150 manufacturer’s savings valid from 10/12/26 brought the queen to $599.99 on the checked date. |
| Leesa Original Mattress | $1,059 (up) | In August 2026 the same page showed $929 on sale against a $1,332 list, so the effective price moved up. |
| Nectar Classic Hybrid | $849 (up) | Up from $799 at the August 2026 check. |
| The Purple Mattress (Purple Original) | $1,599 (up) | Purple showed the $1,599 list price with no promotion on the checked date; in August 2026 the same queen was $1,280 on sale. |
| The WinkBed (Luxury Firm) | $1,799 (up) | WinkBeds raised both figures between the August and October 2026 checks: the queen sale price moved from $1,499 to $1,799 and the struck list price from $1,799 to $2,570. |
| Saatva Rx | $3,094 (flat) | The list price rose from $3,499 to $3,639 between the August and October 2026 checks while the sale price barely moved. |
| Serta Perfect Sleeper Ultimate Medium Pillow Top | $799 (down) | Serta listed $799 for a queen on the checked date, down from $899 in August 2026; the independently tested unit was $999 for a queen in another retail channel. |
| Sleep Number ComfortNext Lux | $3,999 (up) | No promotion was shown on the checked date; in August 2026 the queen was discounted to $3,399.15, and such promotions recur. |
About crossed-out prices
The FTC's pricing guides say a "former price" should be one the product was actually offered at, regularly, for a reasonably substantial period. Some brands we track show a "Total Value" figure instead of a regular price. Treat the price you would pay today as the real price, and judge the bed on value. Our best value mattress picks do that math for you.
Where to Buy: Brand Site, Store, Club or Marketplace
The same mattress can come with different trial, return and price terms depending on who sells it. Here is how each kind of seller compares.
Direct from the brand
The longest trials and free returns. 15 of 29 mattresses we reviewed carry a 365-night trial when bought direct. 23 of 29 ask you to keep the bed for a minimum stay before a return, often 30 nights.
Mattress and furniture stores
You can lie on the bed first. But the store sets the trial and return rules, which may add restocking fees, and some stores sell their own variant of a model, which makes price checks harder.
Warehouse clubs
You need a membership, and the choice is small. The return terms can beat any brand trial: for the Casper Cooling Select Hybrid, Costco's guarantee has no published time limit.
Amazon and marketplaces
Often the cheapest route for budget beds. But the brand's trial may not apply, so read the seller's return terms before you order.
Hotel and specialty stores
The Westin Heavenly Bed Mattress (Next Generation, 2024) has no sleep trial: it is made to order and sold as final sale. Only buy a bed like this if you have slept on it before.
What our reviews found about buying elsewhere
- Beautyrest Black Series One Extra Firm: Third-party retailers set their own trial lengths and conditions on the same mattress, so the decision window depends on where you buy rather than on what you buy.
- Casper Cooling Select Hybrid: Costco’s 100% satisfaction guarantee has no published time limit on mattress returns, which in practice exceeds any branded trial.
- DreamCloud Classic Hybrid: Also sold through retailers such as Mattress Firm and Ashley.
- Leesa Legend Hybrid: As with the Original, a $100 return fee applies in Alaska and Hawaii, and buying through a third-party retailer means that retailer’s policy governs instead.
- Leesa Original Mattress: Note a $100 return fee applies in Alaska and Hawaii, and buying through a third-party retailer means that retailer’s policy applies instead.
- Nectar Classic Hybrid: Also sold through retailers such as Mattress Firm and Ashley.
- Saatva Rx: Sold direct by Saatva and in its viewing rooms rather than through third-party retailers.
- Serta Perfect Sleeper Ultimate Medium Pillow Top: Returns are arranged rather than self-service, and the terms belong to the channel you bought from — a retailer selling the same model may apply its own policy and restocking terms.
- DreamCloud Premier Hybrid: Also sold through third-party retailers.
- Westin Heavenly Bed Mattress (Next Generation, 2024): Pottery Barn prices the same mattress separately.
- Zinus Original Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress (10-inch): Mattresses bought through Amazon or other retailers follow that retailer's return terms instead.
- Purple Restore Hybrid: Retailer purchases, including the Mattress Firm Cool Touch variant, follow the retailer’s own terms.
Trial and Return Terms by Mattress
15 of 29 get a full year, 12 get 100 to 120 nights, and 2 have no fixed trial. A minimum stay shortens the time you can actually return the bed. For how trials work, read how long a mattress sleep trial lasts.
| Mattress | Trial | Minimum stay | Returns | Queen |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Casper Cooling Select Hybrid | No time limit | None stated | Free returns through Costco | $750 |
| Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Cooling (Medium) | 365 nights | 30 nights | Free returns during the trial | $1,499 |
| DreamCloud Classic Hybrid | 365 nights | 30 nights | Free returns during trial | $699 |
| DreamCloud Premier Hybrid | 365 nights | 30 nights | Free returns during the trial | $1,099 |
| Helix Midnight | 365 nights | 30 nights | Full refund or exchange, nights 31–365 | $1,183 |
| Helix Midnight Luxe | 365 nights | 30 nights | Full refund or exchange, nights 31–365, mattress collected | $1,999 |
| Helix Plus | 365 nights | 30 nights | Full refund or exchange, nights 31–365 | $1,279 |
| Leesa Original Mattress | 365 nights | Yes (length not stated) | Free returns with pickup or donation | $1,059 |
| Nectar Classic Hybrid | 365 nights | 30 nights | Free pickup and full refund during trial | $849 |
| Nectar Classic Memory Foam | 365 nights | Yes (length not stated) | Free returns during the trial | $699 |
| Nectar Luxe Hybrid | 365 nights | 30 nights | Free return and full refund during the trial, with conditions | $1,649 |
| Nectar Premier Hybrid | 365 nights | 30 nights | Free pickup and full refund during trial | $1,199 |
| Nectar Premier Memory Foam | 365 nights | 30 nights | Free returns and full refund during the trial | $999 |
| Puffy Lux Hybrid | 365 nights | 30 nights | Full refund; an opened mattress is donated, not shipped back | $1,549 |
| Saatva Classic | 365 nights | None stated | Returns with a $99 processing fee | $2,229 |
| Saatva Rx | 365 nights | None stated | Free mattress removal during the trial | $3,094 |
| Big Fig Classic Mattress | 120 nights | 14 nights | Free mattress return during trial | $2,049 |
| Leesa Legend Hybrid | 120 nights | 30 nights | Free returns with pickup or donation | $1,889 |
| The WinkBed (Luxury Firm) | 120 nights | None stated | Free returns and exchanges with pickup | $1,799 |
| WinkBeds EcoCloud Hybrid | 120 nights | 30 nights | Free returns with arranged pickup | $1,999 |
| WinkBeds GravityLux (Medium) | 120 nights | 30 nights | Free returns; firmness exchanges cost $49 | $1,799 |
| Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid | 100 nights | 30 nights | Free returns during trial | $1,449 |
| Beautyrest Black Series One Extra Firm | 100 nights | None stated | Full refund during the 100-night trial | $2,199 |
| Purple Restore Hybrid | 100 nights | 21 nights | Refund less discounts and transportation charges, within 100 days | $2,699 |
| Serta Perfect Sleeper Ultimate Medium Pillow Top | 100 nights | 30 nights | Returns within the 100-night trial | $799 |
| Sleep Number ComfortNext Lux | 100 nights | 30 nights | Authorized returns within the trial | $3,999 |
| The Purple Mattress (Purple Original) | 100 nights | 21 nights | Free returns with pickup during the trial | $1,599 |
| Zinus Original Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress (10-inch) | 100 nights | Yes (length not stated) | Refund during the trial if returned in good condition | $359 |
| Westin Heavenly Bed Mattress (Next Generation, 2024) | None | — | Not returnable — defect claims only | — |
Terms and queen prices are from each mattress's main seller, usually the brand, as of each review's check date. Confirm the written policy at checkout.
Before You Buy: A 5-Point Check
- Pick the bed first, then the date. Use how to choose a mattress to narrow the type and firmness.
- Check who sets the trial. If you are not buying from the brand, find the seller's own return policy.
- Note the minimum stay. Mark the first and last return dates on your calendar.
- Ask about return costs. Look for processing fees, pickup fees and deducted discounts.
- Read the warranty sag limit. It decides if a dip is a defect. See the 1.5-inch sag threshold.
Buying a Mattress: FAQ
What is the best month to buy a mattress?
Late November (Black Friday and Cyber Monday) is the biggest sale event. The other major sale weekends are Presidents Day in February, Memorial Day in May, July 4 and Labor Day in September. New models tend to arrive in mid to late spring, so outgoing models get cheaper around then. But 21 of the 28 mattresses we price-check go on sale so often that the sale price is the real price, so for most online brands the month matters less than the model.
Is it cheaper to buy a mattress on Black Friday?
Often, but by less than the banners suggest. The Sleep Foundation reports holiday cuts of $100 to $200 off the sticker price at some brands and up to about 30% at others. Many online brands advertise a similar "sale" year-round, so compare the price you would pay today with the holiday price, not with the crossed-out figure.
Is it better to buy a mattress online or in a store?
Buying direct from the brand, online, usually gets the longest trial. 15 of the 29 mattresses we reviewed come with a 365-night trial when bought direct. Stores let you lie on the bed first, but third-party retailers set their own trial and return rules, and they can be shorter or carry fees.
Where is the best place to buy a mattress?
Direct from the brand, for most people: you get the brand’s full trial and free returns. A warehouse club such as Costco is the exception worth knowing; its return guarantee has no published time limit. Be careful with Amazon and other marketplaces, where the brand’s own trial may not apply.
Should I wait for a mattress sale?
Only if your current bed can last a few more weeks and the brand you want is one that runs real holiday cuts. Between our August and October 2026 checks, 7 of the 10 queen prices that moved went up and 2 went down, so waiting is not a sure win.
Sources
Updated · By SleepUnpacked Research Team
Related Sleep Research
Intro:For first-pass context, review mattress lifespan and when to replace yours.
Methods:For methods and material assumptions, review sleep trial rules to check before you buy.
Risk:For risk thresholds and failure conditions, review what lifetime mattress warranties really cover.
Conclusion:For conclusion-level comparison, review how to choose a mattress before the sale starts.
Conclusion:For conclusion-level comparison, review old mattress disposal when the new one arrives.
Next Step:For your next decision step, review best value mattress picks at everyday prices.
Next Step:For your next decision step, review best overall mattress picks to buy direct.